Trisha Lurie's WordPress.com weblog

A MESSAGE FROM MY HEART TO YOURS…

 

This is my first official blog in my weblog 🙂 If you know me personally, you may have noticed that I have been writing and speaking  a lot about the debates, the importance of registering & voting and my support for Senator Barack Obama and Senator Joe Biden. Here are a few reasons why I feel it is so critical and necessary. 

 

 In the past 8 years I have been a strong critic of the Bush/Cheany administration and everyone who backed his leadership and policies. In my opinion, I don’t think he was the honest winner of the elections all together. But, regardless of the past and our general laziness to protest that issue (and I did protest) we did not have an uprising large enough to remove Bush from office. 

 I feel we have been living this numb and instant gratification type of life and no one really wanted to be bothered. With credit cards to live off of, constant entertainment at our finger tips, a pseudo stable economy and an out of sight, out of mind attitude, we just didn’t want to disrupt the system. The problem is that the system is broken and it has failed us. It has failed us on many levels and the rights some of us have been taking for granted have been changed and taken from us. Our rights and our constitution has been tampered with. This is not small potatoes, many fellow americans have fought and died for our rights as Americans. I don’t take that lightly. Nobody should take that lightly.

 So, here we are now at the one of the most important crossroads in our American History. We are looking at two paths going into completely different directions. This is a black and white decision, we have the choice to continue in the destructive path we have been on or switch tracks and move towards a bright and productive future.

Make no mistake, change is hard, why else do people stay in shitty jobs they hate instead of searching for a better one or stay in abusive and negative relationships because they are afraid of being alone or what it might feel like to cut the ties that bind us. Sometimes we are just afraid of the unknown ” What if the world isn’t flat and what will we find?”  But, there is something else that we know about change, it is necessary for evolving, growing and moving forward. I have been learning a lot about change by watching my little boy grow up. He is five years old now and in kindergarten. When he was first born, I had so many questions about the development  of a human. How can such a small and simple little baby be so strong and brave to try new things, learn to walk, talk, eat new foods, take a first step, jump off the couch and the list goes on. Now he is in a new school, a school much larger then his cute little pre-school. He was so worried at first, he wasn’t sure he would like his teacher or have friends. He would protest the change in the morning and this continued for a while. Until one day it made sense to him, this school is not so bad, in fact it is a better school. He knows it was a part of his life to move on and continue growing.

 The change that we need is necessary and positive as well.

The difference in the change we are facing today as American citizens is much grander than a new school. These are times of economic disaster, a failed government, crooked politics, global warming, a healthcare system that is unhealthy and profits big cats before patients, a failed homeland  security, a failed foreign policy, international embarrassment, American citizens living in third world poverty, inadequate infrastructure, a failed educational system, taxes that are working backwards and the list goes on. These issues are not something we can ignore or muddle through. At this point, America the great is not so great on paper.

Don’t get me wrong I am a firm believer that this is a great nation. Our many strong, caring and thoughtful citizens, soldiers, leaders and community servants make this country great but we are better than the America that we have today. 

One of the great things about our democracy is that we have the power to change what is wrong and correct our path. I believe this and I am teaching my son that his voice too shall be heard.

America… We can do this better!

 

 It is for many reasons that I believe in change and the absolute necessity of change right now. I can list a million reasons why a McCain/Palin government would be disastrous but, I would like to focus on why I am voting and fully supporting Barack Obama and Joe Biden.

Here are the issues I am personally concerned with and believe Obama is on the right path, understands the issued on all sides of the table and is qualified and ready to fix them.

First of all our Economy is a major issue for obvious reasons. I hope everyone today has seen the light of the completely destructive, grossly abused power and deregulation pitfalls that our current administration has put into action. I’d like to also note that McCain has been on board with the Bush/Cheany economic disaster 4 out of 5 times. A statistic that is absolutely unacceptable. 

 We are in this mess because there has been a war on the middle class. In my opinion abuse of power should be punished in a democracy. A chain is only as strong as its weakest link and an economy is not sound with hard working citizens living in poverty standards. There are many things that have lead to the financial collapse of our economy…  reckless and expensive blundered war strategies, fraudulent brokers and lenders, Credit companies that are unfair and have set up the system to keep the american people in debt, a tax system that supports the rich getting richer and the poor getting poorer and with all of that going on our wages remain flat and the costs of basic necessities are increasing. 

 I have read Obama’s economic plan for getting this country back on track and if you haven’t yet compared McCain’s plan to Obama’s, you should!

These economic issues are crucial to 95% of our citizens. I am guessing as you read this, these issues are effecting you or loved ones right now.

please go to 

http://www.barackobama.com/issues/economy/

To read Obamas plan on the most important subject in this election. No part of government works in a failed economic system.

 

 Whew, this is more typing then I though I was getting my self into this morning.

 

 On to the next issue I am deeply concerned about…. Our Environment and Energy issues.

We all know by now about global warming and our unhealthy environment for all on this earth. We can’t go on polluting our environment and expect it to clean itself. Can you believe how destructive our human footprint has become on this planet? Sometime I feel like we are all in shock or just don’t want to see it. I know you have seen the bumper sticker “Good Planets are hard to find” well it seems like such a simple concept but we actually need this planet to survive. It takes more then politicians regulating big oil and gross polluters. We must all be responsible for our own foot print. 

 

Pay attention to what you buy, where it is from and what will happen to it when you no longer need it, become more efficient with your own energy use and elect political leaders that can shape our country to be a beacon for a clean and efficient way of life. 

 

Beyond these reasons, there is also the fact that becoming energy sufficient and climbing above this oily grave, will make our national Security stronger and provide about 5 million green collared jobs! I have a feeling that will really jump start our economy and other countries will soon follow. Our children deserve a clean and healthy planet. I would also like to know that when my son is five or fifteen there will still be wildlife enjoy or study and clean oceans to play in or study. My son has wanted to be a scientist since he was two years old, really… it is all he talks about, haha.

 

I believe Obama cares as much as I do about the environment and I am excited to watch the changes be made and a reversal of this stick mess.

 

 

If you want to know more about Obama’s plan for Environment and Energy go to

http://my.barackobama.com/page/content/newenergy

 

 I also am concerned about our Homeland security, not in a “everyone is out to kill us” kind of way, but I am concerned with our ability to uphold our safety in a natural disaster, protect our selves from attacks of any kind, Keeping are water safe, our food supply safe, secure levees and improving our technology to be safe in a 21st century world.

We are far from being safe at home while we are fighting wars to collect enough fuel to use here at home because we have not set up a self efficient energy system here in America. On top of that when we become energy sufficient, we will not be sending millions of american dollars to the middle east. It seems so simple!

I look forward to the time when crooked politicians and big oil will not determine our homeland security. I am also looking forward to getting off the oil tit. It is time to stop milking this dirty oil and feeding it to our children.

By the way, we are no safer now after this on going war on terror, when our country is falling apart.

 

I love Obamas approach to regaining our Homeland security. You can read more about that here

http://origin.barackobama.com/issues/homeland_security/

 

 Of course I am concerned about our National Educational System. Another issue on the long list of failed programs and inadequate standards. I want to know that my son will get a good and competitive education! That is not to much to ask! This is America right? There are many children getting a poor education and statistics show that is the worst we have ever seen. This is especially apparent in low income areas and in minorities. We are supposed to be the land of opportunity for ALL. A good education is not a privilege either, in my book it is a right. We all pay taxes, we should all have an education that is not only good but also competitive internationally. In fact I would hope that our educational system in America would be above and beyond.

As a parent, I fully support Barack Obama’s stand and plan for improving our countries Educational system!

 If you want to know more and care about our children’s education you should check out his plan. Remember it is our children that will be making laws that will effect you in your later years of life. Wouldn’t you like a smart America?

see more here

http://www.barackobama.com/issues/education/

 

  This blog is getting a little on the long side so I am going to wrap it up.

In short, I believe we need major changes in these areas

Economy, Environment, Energy Sufficiency  Homeland Security, Healthcare, Education, Foreign Policy, Defense, Poverty, Technology, Social Security, Veterans, issues protecting those with disabilities, Civil rights, Gay rights, Human right and last on my personal list but not last in importance… Women’s rights. A cause very dear to my heart and I will continue the fight for not only equality to all citizens but also my protection to reserve the right of Choice. 

 

 I support Obama and Biden because they “Get it” they see the state of our country with open & modern eyes and are rolling up their sleeves. I believe they know how to fix these problems and are ready to lead us out of this giant mess. This is a historical election and for the first time in my life I have hope that this country will be what I have dreamed it to be. I want to pass on this faith and hope to my son. I want him to be proud of his country too. I want him to feel safe, breath clean air, get a good education, have good healthcare, believe in equality and benefit from this great country where so many have fought and died to give us the rights in our democracy.

It is time to take back our country and do our part. Remember that it is “For The People-By The People” 

 So, I am rolling up my sleeves and ready to help recreate this beautiful country! I am voting for Barack Obama and Joe Biden because it is not only the change we need to survive but also the change I personally believe in.

 

xoxo Trisha Lurie

Leave a Reply

