Trisha Lurie's WordPress.com weblog

Behind the walls of one of my paintings and a window to my soul.

Chains of the Psyche

In psychoanalysis and other forms of depth psychology, the psyche refers to the forces in an individual that influence thought, behavior, and personality.

The word is borrowed from ancient Greek, and refers to the concept of the self, encompassing the modern ideas of soul, self and mind.

The Greeks believed that the soul or “psyche” was responsible for behaviour. A psyche in mythology means a butterfly

This was the backdrop and symphony to one of my paintings that hangs in my house today.

I feel that one the thing which holds me back the most in life, happens to be the chains of my unconscious mind. The bars I wrap around my own mind and ideas prevent my growth. The chains I use to keep pain out also prevent my freedom.  Fear of the unknown can keep you in a scary place….. locked up in an unconscious mind… and fear is… your worst enemy!

I look at this painting every day and try to remind myself that I alone am responsible for refusing  to act out of fear and instead embrace whatever may come, good or bad… it is an ongoing process

It is good to take a moment to check in on yourself and get below the surface… take a trip with your unconscious mind to be sure that You are aware of your patterns. Be sure that your primal urges and instincts are healthy.  For me personally I like to make sure that I am acting as a survivor not a victim and be sure that Iam protecting my inner child, not letting her run the show 🙂  Okay enough jibberish, here is the painting… Click on the picture to enlarge painting

Chains of the Psyche



Painting by Trisha Lurie

Just in case you are curious! lol

Sigmond Freud, the creator of psychoanalysis, believed that the psyche was composed of 3 components

  • The id, which represents the instinctual drives of an individual and remains largely unconscious.
  • The ego, which is conscious and serves to integrate the drives of the id with the prohibitions of the super-ego. Freud believed this conflict to be at the heart of neurosis.
  • The super-ego, which represents a person’s conscience and their internalization of societal norms and morality.

Carl Jung was an influential thinker and the founder of analytical psychology. (also known as Jungian psychology).

“I have been compelled, in my investigations into the structure of the unconscious, to make a conceptual distinction between soul and psyche. By psyche, I understand the totality of all psychic processes, conscious as well as unconscious. By soul, on the other hand, I understand a clearly demarcated functional complex that can best be described as a “personality”. Carl Jung



2 responses

  1. If you click on the photo it will enlarge the painting 🙂

    March 10, 2010 at 2:15 am

  2. J.B.

    good thougths , our rol in this world is not be alive in fear .is accept whatever it comes good or bad and make it a paint or a song of it ,to remember like you say that where are a survivors not victims 🙂

    March 14, 2010 at 2:35 pm

Leave a Reply

